Real Life Interference

The Flu, an Ear Infection, a Car Accident

That pretty much sums up my life for these past three weeks – and my excuses for not having posted.

I plan to get back on track with posting 2-3 times per week. In the meantime, you can check out the movie review I wrote for Spiral on the QuietEarth website.

QuietEarth

QuietEarth is a website “Dedicated to genre film and everything Post Apocalyptic.”  They post news and reviews of books, movies (including foreign), and more. I link to QuietEarth on my blogroll – they are just that cool.

Check out what they say about Wastelands: Stories of the Apocalypse. This is a short story collection that includes authors like Stephen King and Octavia Butler. I’m about a third of the way through and loving it!

io9

If you happen to be looking for another great science fiction resource, visit io9 – a website “strung out on science fiction”

I star a lot of their posts not only for content but for the incredible images they find. Some are so cool and inspiring – like this concept art from Hatch FX about the Gorgeous End of the World:


gorgeous end of the world

Some are just hilarious – like this one, about how Evolution Explains Why LOLCats Control Your Mind:

LOLDuneCat

(Click on images to enlarge)

About Jamie Thornton

I am a voracious reader in many genres. I do sometimes judge a book by its cover art. Life is too short to spend time reading or reviewing bad books. My own published novels are full of adventure, danger, and complicated characters. I call Northern California home. I graduated from UCLA with a degree in Anthropology and belong to the Wordforge writing group. I live, rather happily, with my husband, dog, a garden, a viola and a bicycle. Check out my short stories and novels at jamiethornton.com

One response to “Real Life Interference

  1. Quiet Earth looks great thanks for sharing and Dune cat has to be one of my favorite LOLcats ever!

    Hope everyone is healing well!

Leave a Reply

